The TV image

State workers need and deserve a raise. There’s no two ways about it. The plight was televised on CNN recently, and it can’t have been good publicity for Joe Manchin and his massive personal pay raise.

However, if the various unions that represent, or want to represent,  state workers have half a clue, they’ll think about the image their workers are showing on national television.

I was embarassed to once again see my fellow West Virginians represented on national television by sloppily-dressed, overweight people. Who told Ms. Triska it was a good idea to wear a T-shirt with a heart on it for a TV interview? Who selected the four people to be on the interview panel near the end of the clip? We understand that we want to show West Virginia workers as downtrodden, but let’s not perpetuate the hillbilly stereoptypes. They’re supposed to look like professionals.

4 Responses to “The TV image”

  1. wvcitizen Says:

    I hear ya…this and the Leno barbie ban comments are no help. wonder if the gov even gave this a second thought….did he lose sleep? naaa

  2. Jeff Watson Says:

    What exactly do you mean when you say “hillbilly”? Here is something interesting…The origins of the term “hillbilly” are obscure. According to Anthony Harkins in “Hillbilly: A Cultural History of an American Icon”, the term first appeared in print in a 1900 New York Journal article, with the definition: “a Hill-Billie is a free and untrammeled white citizen, who lives in the hills, has no means to speak of, dresses as he can, talks as he pleases, drinks whiskey when he gets it, and fires off his revolver as the fancy takes him.”

    Let us see…we’ll go by numbers…ya know…kindA like I color…duhhhh with numbers…yeeeehawwww

    #1 – free and untrammeled white citizen…ummmm, yep, thats me…free and UNIMPEDED…in case you did not know…

    #2 – lives in the hills…ummm, I live ON a hill …duzzzzz that kount???

    # 3 – has no means to speak of….ummm….I work for the State, so yepppp, thats me agin…duhuh

    #4 – dresses as he can…same as #3…I works for the state I does…

    #5 – talks as he pleases…MOST definitely me

    #6 – drinks whiskey when he gets it…I LOVE EVAN WILLIAMS…good whiskey

    #7 – fires off his revolver as the fancy takes him…yep, yeppir, that’s me…WAIT, only MINE are semi-auto pistols…NOT revolvers, then theres the shotguns…and the rifles…

    oh yeah…#8….back to #5…FUCK YOU PIECES OF SHIT…THE PEOPLE YOU SPEAK OF ARE FRIENDS OF MINE, AND BEYOND THAT, I WAS ONE OF THEM, SO A BIGGER FUCK YOU.

    Where are your real numbers fuckheads?? You see mine…have some balls…and the GUTS to do SOMETHING…ANYTHING…or shut the FUCK up!!

  3. Cara Chapman Says:

    Well, hmmm, sounds like someone that works behind a desk and pushes papers and possibly wears the high priced clothing that Ms Triska, unfortunately, can not afford to buy due to the fact that she is working for barely over minimum wage. HillWilliam I am. I am pleased to be one. I am proud of being a Hillbilly. I am Free, even though my Government keeps trying to take away my God given rights, I live in the hills, I have no means to speak of, like Jeff says, I work for the Great State of Wv, so therefore I will never have any means to speak of. yes, I dress as I can, because, even though the blue jeans were invented in Wv, the State doesn’t deam them worthy of the respect they deserve, so I have to wear other colors, otherwise I would wear blue. I talk as I Da**ed well please, I don’t drink, but I used to. I own many firearms, my favorite is my 38 smith and wesson revolver with a six inch barrell. makes me sick how you look down on the very people who are taking care the very ones you don’t want on your precious streets and want locked away because they are an embarrasment to you. I look down my nose at you, you are a peice of monkey flung pooh as far as I am concerned. and you can think as highly of yourself as you want. But God knows. He is the one who will judge your judgement of hardworking, God fearing Citizens of Wv.

  4. WVState Says:

    Ah, people were offended. 🙂 Here’s the clue: it’s fine to be what you want to be, or have to be, or the best that you can be. I dress like a slob when I’m at home. But when company’s comin’ don’t you dress up a bit? If the TV was coming to my house, they wouldn’t get in until everyone was dressed as if we had guests arriving.

    In this case, your guests are the TV viewing audience.

Leave a Reply

